How To Stop, Limit, or Change Sharing In Google Drive


August 2, 2018

After you share a file, you can stop sharing a file at any time. You can also prevent someone you’ve shared with from changing or sharing your file.

Stop sharing a file using computer

If you share a file with people, the owner or anyone with edit access can change the sharing settings for the file.

Stop sharing a file

  1. Open the homescreen for Google Drive, Google Docs, Google Sheets, or Google Slides.
  2. Select a file or folder.
  3. Click Share or Share Add people.
  4. At the bottom right of the “Share with others” window, click Advanced.
  5. Next to the person you want to stop sharing with, click Remove Remove.
  6. Click Save changes.

Delete a link to a file

When you delete a link to a file, the only people who can still see the file will be you and people whose names or email addresses you share with.

  1. Open the homescreen for Google Drive, Google Docs, Google Sheets, or Google Slides.
  2. Open or select a file.
  3. Click Share or Share Add people.
  4. Next to “Anyone with the link,” click the Down arrow Down Arrow.
  5. Click More.
  6. Click the circle next to “Off – Specific people.”
  7. Click Save.
  8. Click Done.

If you delete a shared file that you own:

  • People that can view, comment, or edit can make a copy of the file until you permanently delete it.
  • To permanently delete the file, click the file in your trash, and click Delete forever Delete..

If you delete a shared file that you don’t own:

  • The file will be removed from your Drive , but other collaborators can still access it.
  • To get the file back, open a link to the file and then click File and then Add to My Drive.

Stop sharing a file using Android Phone

If you’re sharing a file with people, the owner or anyone with edit access can change the sharing settings for the file.

Stop sharing a file

  1. Open the app for Google DriveDocs, Sheets, or Slides.
  2. Next to the file’s name, tap More More.
  3. At the right, tap Info Information.
  4. Next to the person you want to stop sharing with, tap the Down arrow Down Arrow.
  5. Tap No access.

Delete a link to a file

When you delete a link to a file, only you and people you share the file with directly will still have access.

  1. Open the app for Google DriveDocs, Sheets, or Slides.
  2. Next to the file’s name, tap More More.
  3. At the right, tap Info Information.
  4. Next to “Link sharing on,” tap the Down arrow Down Arrow.
  5. Tap No access.
  6. Tap OK.

If you delete a shared file that you own:

  • People that can view, comment, or edit will be able to make a copy until you permanently delete it.
  • To permanently delete the file, find the file in your trash and tap More and then Delete forever.

If you delete a shared file that you do not own:

  • It will be removed from your Drive, but still accessible to other collaborators.
  • To get the file back, open a link to the file. You’ll see the file in “Shared with me.”

Stop sharing a file using iPhone & iPad

If you’re sharing a file with people, the owner or anyone with edit access can change the sharing settings for the file.

Stop sharing a file

  1. Open the app for Google Drive, Docs, Sheets, or Slides.
  2. Next to the file’s name, tap More More.
  3. At the right, tap Info Information.
  4. Next to the person you want to stop sharing with, tap the Down arrow Down Arrow.
  5. Tap Remove this user.

Delete a link to a file

When you delete a link to a file, only you and people you share the file with directly will still have access.

  1. Open the app for Google Drive, Docs, Sheets, or Slides.
  2. Next to the file’s name, tap More More.
  3. At the right, tap Info Information.
  4. Next to “Link sharing on,” tap Can view or Can edit.
  5. Tap Turn off link sharing.

If you delete a shared file that you own:

  • People that can view, comment, or edit will be able to make a copy until you permanently delete it.
  • To permanently delete the file, find the file in your trash and tap More and then Delete forever.

If you delete a shared file that you do not own:

  • It will be removed from your Drive, but still accessible to other collaborators.
  • To get the file back, open a link to the file. You’ll see the file in “Shared with me.”
Share this on...

Related

codes all phones

October 30, 2018

These codes are mostly universal and should work on Android