How To Share files from Google Drive


August 2, 2018

You can share the files and folders that you store in Google Drive with anyone.

When you share from Google Drive, you can control whether people can edit, comment on, or only view the file.

Note: To edit Microsoft Office files with others, you’ll need to convert them to Google Docs, Sheets, or Slides. I will make a post on how to convert google docs, sheets or slides being offline.

Step 1: Find the file you want to share

Share a single file using computer

  1. On a computer, go to Google Drive, Docs, Sheets, or Slides.
  2. Click the file you want to share.
  3. Click Share or Share Add people.

Share a single file using Android device

Choose how you want to share a file:

  1. On your Android device, open the app for Google Drive, Docs, Sheets, or Slides.
  2. Next to the file’s name, tap More More.
  3. Tap Add people.

Share a single file using iPhone or iPad

Choose how you want to share a file:

  1. On your iPhone or iPad, open the app for Google Drive, Docs, Sheets, or Slides.
  2. Next to the file’s name, tap More More.
  3. Tap Add people.

Share multiple files

  1. On a computer, go to drive.google.com.
  2. On your keyboard, hold Shift and select two or more files.
  3. At the top right, click Share Add people.

Learn how to add files to a folder and share the entire folder.

Step 2: Choose who to share with & how they can use your file

Share with specific people

  1. Under “People,” enter the email address you want to share with.
    • Note: If you share with an email address that isn’t a Google Account, they’ll only be able to view the file.
  2. To choose what someone can do with your file, click the Down arrow .
  3. If you don’t want to send an email people, turn off “Notify people.” If you notify people, each email address you enter will be included in the email.
  4. Click Send.

Addition

Share a file publicly

If you want anyone on the internet to search for, find, and open your file, you can publicly share a file.

  1. Click Get shareable link.
  2. Next to “Anyone with the link,” click the Down arrow Down Arrow.
  3. Click More and then On – Public on the web.
  4. Click Save.
  5. Click Done.

Make A Security On Your File Sharing

  • Choose the level of access you want people to have. Learn more about how others can view, comment, or edit files. Read below

When you share a file with someone, you can choose what they can do with it.

  • View: People can view, but can’t change or share the file with others.
  • Comment: People can make comments and suggestions, but can’t change or share the file with others.
  • Edit: People can make changes, accept or reject suggestions, and share the file with others.

Anonymous or unknown people in a file

People who aren’t signed in to a Google Account show up as anonymous animals in your file.

You might see a name you don’t recognize or “anonymous animals” viewing your document, spreadsheet, or presentation. This can happen when a document is shared publicly or with anyone who has the link.

If you see someone you don’t know

Someone you don’t know might be looking at your file because:

  • The file is shared with a mailing list.
  • The file is shared with someone who doesn’t have a Google Account or isn’t signed in.
  • Someone who can edit your file or has the link shared it with other people.
  • Someone changed their Google Account name. You can see their email address when you click Share and then Advanced in your file.

“Anonymous animals”

Take note:

If you share your file with a link, you may not see the names of people who view it.

  • People you didn’t invite individually will show as anonymous animals when they’re in the file.
  • People you invite individually will show by name when they’re in the file.

You can only see other people’s names when you give them individual permission to view a file or if they are part of a mailing list.

Limit how people can view your file

If you want to stop sharing a file you can edit, you can learn how to:

Delete a link to a file

When you delete a link to a file, the only people who can still see the file will be you and people whose names or email addresses you share with.

  1. Open the homescreen for Google Drive, Google Docs, Google Sheets, or Google Slides.
  2. Open or select a file.
  3. Click Share or Share Add people.
  4. Next to “Anyone with the link,” click the Down arrow Down Arrow.
  5. Click More.
  6. Click the circle next to “Off – Specific people.”
  7. Click Save.
  8. Click Done.

Click on the link below

Stop, limit, or change sharing

Share this on...

Related posts

Related

codes all phones

October 30, 2018

These codes are mostly universal and should work on Android